Crash test - June 2018

In spite of awareness-raising campaigns and actions, the number of accidents at level crossings has not fallen. In 2017, there were 51 accidents and 9 fatalities. For the first time ever, a "crash test" was carried out for both scientific and educational purposes.

The results are striking: nobody would have survived this accident, even though it happened at low speed. An experience that reminds everyone of the importance of respecting level crossing signs.

An “exceptional” campaign

A vehicle gets stuck on a level crossing as a train approaches. The conditions are real, just as they happen every week!

Dozens of cameras are set up to film the crash from every angle. The objective: conducting a broad campaign, in which every professional from the various fields involved (Vias Institute, the firefighters, railway police, Securail (SNCB) and Infrabel) addresses the same topic from a different angle but reaches the same conclusion. A unique awareness-raising campaign, carried out in close cooperation with all those involved.

This world first has allowed Vias Institute to take measures on the vehicle during the accident, the Mons firefighters to free the 3 “victims”, the federal railway police to train young recruits in accidents involving a motor vehicle, and Infrabel to work on the repair of the railway infrastructure.

> More information about this crash test in our press release

A “crash test” carried out in complete safety

The vehicle is gets stuck on the level crossing. A “ramming locomotive” with no driver is pushed by another locomotive. The latter brakes, leaving the “ram” hitting the stationary vehicle on the level crossing at a speed of 75 km/hr. To stop the “ramming locomotive”, no fewer than 9 different safety devices were provided, each successfully tested 5 times. The first device did its job and the train stopped perfectly safely 150 metres after the collision.

This exercise was carried out in full compliance with Infrabel’s first priority: safety! The track was closed, the area secured over a distance of almost 2 km, the railway police and Securail mounted a guard at the level crossings, both upstream and downstream, and the local police attended the site. Drones were also used to carry out reconnaissance before the operation was launched to ensure that no onlookers were present in the operational area. And the Infrabel teams attended the only local resident on the train’s route. No inconvenience was caused to travellers either, since there is no traffic on that line during the weekend.

Short version of our awareness video

Discover below the short version of our awareness video, which was used on our social media channels.

Crash test - Juin 2018

Malgré les campagnes et actions de sensibilisation, le nombre d’accidents aux passages à niveau ne diminue pas. En 2017, il y a eu 51 accidents et 9 décès. Pour la toute première fois, un « crash test » a été réalisé à des fins scientifiques et dans le but de se former.

Les résultats sont percutants : personne n’aurait survécu à cet accident qui s’est pourtant produit à vitesse réduite. Une expérience qui rappelle à tous l’importance de respecter la signalisation aux passages à niveau.

Une campagne « exceptionnelle » !

Un véhicule est immobilisé sur un passage à niveau, alors qu’un train approche. Les conditions sont réelles, comme il s’en produit chaque semaine !

Des dizaines de caméras sont placées pour filmer le crash sous tous les angles. L’objectif : réaliser une campagne transversale, dans laquelle chaque corps de métier (Vias Institute, les pompiers, la Police des Chemins de Fer, Securail (SNCB) et Infrabel) aborde une même thématique sous un angle différent, mais avec la même conclusion. Une campagne de sensibilisation unique, réalisée en étroite collaboration avec tous les intervenants.

Cette première mondiale aura permis à Vias Institute de prendre des mesures sur le véhicule pendant l’accident, aux Pompiers de Mons de réaliser la désincarcération des 3 « victimes », à la Police fédéral des Chemins de Fer de former de jeunes recrues aux accidents impliquant un véhicule routier, et à Infrabel de finaliser la remise en état des lieux.

> Plus d'informations sur ce crash test dans notre communiqué de presse

Un « crash test » réalisé en toute sécurité

Le véhicule est immobilisé sur le passage à niveau. Une « locomotive-bélier », sans conducteur, est poussée par une autre locomotive. Celle-ci freine, laissant le bélier heurter le véhicule immobilisé sur le passage à niveau à une vitesse de 75km/h. Pour freiner la « locomotive-bélier », pas moins de 9 dispositifs de sécurité différents ont été prévus, testés chacun 5 fois avec succès. Le premier dispositif a rempli son office, et le train s’est arrêté en toute sécurité, 150 mètres après la collision.

Pour réaliser cet exercice, Infrabel a respecté sa priorité absolue : la sécurité ! Voie mise hors service, zone sécurisée sur une distance de près de 2km, gardiennage des passages à niveau en amont et en aval par la Police des Chemins de Fer et par Securail, présence de la police locale sur le site. Des drones avaient aussi effectué une reconnaissance avant le lancement de l’opération, pour s’assurer qu’aucun curieux n’était dans la zone d’opération. Et, les équipes d’Infrabel étaient aux côtés du seul riverain sur le parcours du train. Aucune gêne non plus pour les voyageurs puisqu’il n’y a pas de trafic le week-end, sur la ligne.

Version courte de la vidéo

Découvrez ci-dessous la version courte de la vidéo de sensibilisation que nous avons utilisée sur nos médias sociaux. 

Autres ressources